Mahler: Rückert-Lieder – Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen

Gustav Mahler: Rückert-Lieder – Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen (‘I have lost touch with the world’)

Rückert-Lieder is a song cycle of five Lieder for voice and orchestra or piano by Gustav Mahler, based on poems written by Friedrich Rückert, premiered on 29 January 1905 in Vienna, Mahler conducting himself. (Wikipedia)

This is the third of these songs:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TzJyIWxjX9o&index=20&list=FLt-YqJ5j2EpP4sAe_0gUIvQ

 

I am lost to the world

with which I used to waste so much time,

It has heard nothing from me for so long

that it may very well believe that I am dead!

 

It is of no consequence to me

Whether it thinks me dead;

I cannot deny it,

for I really am dead to the world.

 

I am dead to the world’s tumult,

And I rest in a quiet realm!

I live alone in my heaven,

In my love and in my song.

 

LUCERNE FESTIVAL ORCHESTRA | Claudio Abbado | Magdalena Kožena (mezzo-soprano)

Recorded August 2009 in Lucerne, Switzerland.


					
3 thoughts on “Mahler: Rückert-Lieder – Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen

Leave a Reply

